You can finally take back your ill-conceived messages on Facebook.
Facebook Messenger will soon roll out an unsend feature, which will give users a grand total of ten minutes to unsend a message, wiping it from your chat history. This will remove the message from the recipient’s inbox as well.
Facebook announced the upcoming feature in the “coming soon” section of its latest rundown detailing what’s new in the version 191.0 release of Facebook Messenger on the App Store.
Facebook’s release notes read:
“Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.”
Currently, while Facebook users can delete messages that they sent from their own inbox, the recipient of the message can still see them.
However, it should be noted that Facebook’s unsend feature for both its messaging apps will actually deliver the message when you hit send. This gives the recipient the opportunity to read the messages, even if you decide to take it back within the time frame its eligible to be “unsent.”